Hillside - Cllr David Simpson CBE

Group Whip and Shadow Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Enforcement

David has been a member of the Hillside Ward Conservative Councillor Team for the past 16 years during which time he has developed close ties with all of our Ward Residents Associations. Between 2006 and 2010 during the last Conservative Administration David was both Cabinet Member for Community Engagement and then for the Environment where he delivered the rollout of the weekly food waste collection service across Merton. In addition to serving in the Shadow Cabinet David is the Vice Chairman of the Borough Licensing Committee. David was appointed CBE for Political and Public Service in the New Years Honours list in 1992.



Conservative group office 0208 545 3396

See Also

Cannon Hill - Cllr Nick McLean

Group Leader

Nicholas McLean, first elected in May 2018 and since February 2019 is the Conservative Group Leader on Merton Council.

Abbey - Cllr Nigel Benbow

Spokesperson for Health and Air Quality

Nigel has lived in South Wimbledon for fifteen years.  After working in insurance Lloyd's market, he set up his own business developing financial models that analyses the ForEx trading markets.  He has a BSc (Hons) from Hertfordshire University.

Hillside - Cllr David Williams MBE JP

Shadow Cabinet Member without Portfolio

David has lived in Merton most of his life. As Merton’s longest serving Councillor he has wide experience in local government.

Raynes Park - Cllr Stephen Crowe

Spokesperson for Adult Social Care

Stephen has been a resident of Raynes Park since 1988.  He is married with three adult children and is a retired chartered accountant.

Trinity - Cllr Hayley Ormrod

Shadow Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Education

Hayley was born in Blackpool and moved to London after attaining a degree in Business. She is married, has an 8 year old daughter and has lived in Wimbledon since 2008.